heavymetal_tshirt 

Geez. I feel slighty bad posting this, while the radio newsman tells us the news from Italy. Our thoughts are with the earthquake victims. A friend from Rome just told me he woke up last night with his bed rocking like a cradle.

Well, anyway, this is not a news blog, so if you’re interested in reading more about the earthquake go inform yourself on other sites. And come back if you’re in the mood for art, Design and insights into the work of a Designer. Mr. Giovanni “Minimalsonic” Ricchi presumably was not affected by the catastrophy in any way unless he incidentally lingered in the affected areas. Let the talking begin:

logo_msc

Please introduce yourself in a few words.
I’m Giovanni and I come from Cesena, a little town in the east coast of Italy… i hate winter and love colors..

Are you a full time graphic designer?
Yes I am, I work in a graphic design studio during the day and I do my personal projects in the night.

Where can we see more of your work?
in my portfolio http://minimalsonic.net

How did you get the idea for your T-shirt? Are you a Heavy Metal fan yourself?
The idea came to me one day, looking at the illustrator rules (a thing I look at for so many hours in front of my monitor everyday).
I love to play with words and their multiple meanings…  so the idea was born!
Personally I never listened Heavy Metal, I was into the Hard Core/Punk scene, powerful music as well…

36_04

What are favourite bands then? What music do you like to listen to while working?
I don’t know… I think Judas Priest ever made me curious.
When I work I play my iTunes in shuffle mode.. a blend of hip hop, techno, dubstep, raggae…

On the visual side: what art has inspired you?
My roots are in graffiti and skate culture, a real art movement!

The words consist of rulers. One thing that occured to me: shouldn’t the scale show sixes instead of nines? Or are these rulers with the scale on the bottom side?
Obviously the numbers are 6…6…6… !

Your general opinion on scribtee? What could we improve (besides the long wait for the tees to come out which we promise to improve).
I think your work is great! You give the opportunity to designers to show their work and this is the biggest thing you can do!

