jonez1
While the interview questions for the Scribtee.com blog occasionally have to cross the whole planet to reach their destinator (see Interview with RikkiB or Ninhol), this time they only went a few kilometers from one district of Berlin to another. Where Jonas Kakoschke a.k.a. JonEz!, the Designer of Scribtee’s latest release “Free Hugs” as well as the also victorious “Don’t Stop Playing” kindly gave us some insight about himself and his word. Let’s roll:
Hi, JonEz! Introduce yourself in a few words (and don’t forget to mention your website).
Hi Robert! First I’d like to give a big thanks to scribtee.com for that opportunity to show my shirts to such a big audience and to give that interview. I’m a student of communication design in berlin, where I live since November 2008. I’m very interested in all forms of design, especially the kind of urban communication, which is what shirtdesign means for me, as well as all other forms of creative ways to express oneself. It’s very important for my personal satisfaction, to be productive and creative everyday. … ah, yes, I almost forgot: SEE THAT ON http://www.artkore.de 😀

Tell us a bit about your winning design. Where did you get the idea for “Free Hugs” from?

…to be honest.-) me and a friend of mine were on our way home from a party or just some clubs in berlin, very drunk, at something about 7 am, when i had that idea from that people with those posters “FREE HUGS”. And you know how it is, when you’re drunk – just talking crap without thinking about it, and I just said to my friend: “…hey, fuck that free hugs, dude – I got free fucks!“. We were laughing about that and some days later I made that design. That’s the whole story! .-)

jonez4

Are you working as a full time graphic designer?

Yes, I would say so. As I told you, I’m studying communication design, but to make a living I work as a freelance graphic designer for various clients. But there are more ways I need to express myself, for example making music, or little video experiments (if someone’s interested, check http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ht9dXgK-AOE or http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ChNTBU1l2Kg for example). Of course I like to meet friends and new people, go out, etc.

How would you describe your style?

I would say it’s always evolving. My style is not already finished or fixed – everyday I try new things and new styles and I like it that way. Basically I really like to mix analogue techniques with digital design.

What music is playing when you work on a design?

I can’t answer that so easily. It really depends on my mood, and what kind of design I have to create. Sometimes it’s conscious rap music, where I would say my musical roots are at, sometimes electro and sometimes just the Libertines or the White Stripes.

jonez3

How much is hand work, how much is software?

 
How I said, I really like to mix both medias, but the finished product is always digital, which leads to analogue again – in the case of shirts.-)

Who are your favourite artists and where do you find inspiration?
I really love the work of blu, hellofreaks, cuypi and berlin design collectives like nepomuk, peachbeach and many more. I find my inspirations while going to exhibitions in berlin and working together with my fellow students.

Your opinion on Scribtee?
It’s a really great way for upcoming designers to express themselves in the public and find a big audience. What I really miss on scribtee.com, especially in comparison with other more famous contests, are constructive comments and partly more quality shirt designs. The problem is in itself – it’ll just have to become more famous, I think – that’s the answer! So to all readers: SPREAD THE WORD!! .-) Thanks a lot for the interview and keep straight going onandonandonandon…

jonez2

chEerz.

